Hi. I'm Luke Powell and I am the

I'll get to the whole typical about-me stuff, but if you don't mind let's talk about you first. You strive to improve your health and life through fitness and nutrition. You balance a professional career with family demands, and you probably have children still living at home. Balancing family with big athletic goals can be tough, and I get that! In fact, I wrote a guide called The Balanced Approach about it. If you're interested, you can download the first 3 chapters here.

Whether you're a new athlete looking to learn about exercise and diet, or an experienced competitor looking for those little tricks to take you to the next level, you will find this site useful.

As for me, I'm an average guy. I work forty- plus hours a week. I like to spend my weekends wrestling and playing basketball and soccer with my three sons or taking my daughter to her Field Hockey game. I help coach my son's baseball team and can always help with math and science homework! When we can find a babysitter, my wife and I like to go out to dinner and catch up with friends. I've written this blog since 2009, when I fell in love with triathlon. My interests have moved from triathlon to Obstacle Course Racing, but regardless of what type of workouts and racing I'm doing, I enjoy sharing my knowledge about nutrition and training with fellow athletes and non-athletes within my own community and beyond.

Competing in an Obstacle Course Race in 2019.

High five from my daughter at the finish of a race. Nothing better!

I am a proud Purdue University alumnus, holding a degree in mechanical engineering. Being an engineer comes in handy when figuring gear ratios and analyzing data! Since the beginning of my triathlon career in 2008, I have constantly researched and tested methods of training, nutrition, and lifestyle.

I’m an above average athlete. When I participate in competitive events, I consistently rank in the top in my age group. I am a 4x Ironman and have completed countless shorter distance races over the years. I am a eight-time qualifier for the USA Triathlon Age Group National Championship and earned the opportunity to represent the state of Kentucky in the 2015 Best Of The U.S. Championship. I also earned Ironman All-World Athlete status in 2017 and qualified multiple times to race in the Spartan North American National Championship. In 2022, I travel to Greece and competed in the Spartan Trifecta World Championship obstacle course race. I tell you this, not to brag on myself, although I am proud of those accomplishments. I tell you this because I was not born with elite athletic genetics. I played team sports as a kid, but was never the best or the fastest. I wasn't offered athletic scholarships to college. In fact, I was a middle-of-the-pack finisher during my first few triathlon seasons. I've simply found a method of training and lifestyle that allows me to accelerate my athletic performance and without sacrificing time with those I love. It works for me and it can work for you! 

Like what you've learned about me so far? 

Let's keep in touch!